12 elected to state NAACP leadership; two take on new roles

The Louisiana State Conference of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People has elected state-wide leaders. On Saturday, Jan. 11, Judge John Michael Guidry swore in the new leadership during a ceremony at the Capitol Center. Inducted were:

State President Michael McClanahan continues another term as the presiding leader of the organization. He is employed as a home manager at Harmony II with Harmony Center Incorporated. In this role, he provides supervision and direct care to mentally challenged adult males. Much of this experience was obtained when he co-founded M & T Outpatient Rehab Center for residents who need treatment for alcohol and drug usage. A gifted handyman, he also spends time renovating floors, bathrooms, and kitchens with his home repair company, M&T Corner. He and his wife, Patricia, have two children, Ymine and Torin. (More)

Two new state leaders were elected.

Marja Broussard
Marja Broussard


Marja Broussard, who leads Lafayette’s NAACP chapter, has been elected vice president of Dist. D throughout Calcasieu parish. 





Alvin Joseph
Alvin Joseph



Alvin Joseph, president of the Lake Charles Branch will lead Dist. E.







NAACP 2020 officials

Re-elected were:

  • Levon LeBan, D.D  as state vice president. He also serves as president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference New Orleans Chapter.
  • Charles “CD” Heckard continues his role as state treasurer/registrar. He has served as treasurer of the NAACP Ouachita Parish Branch in Monroe.
  • Laura Bowman, Secretary
  •  Dr. Charles Cole, Chaplain
  • Dist. A Vice President Kevin Gabriel
  • Dist. B Vice President: Jerome Boykins
  • Dist. C Vice President: Reginald Devold
  • Dist. F Vice President: Chipps Taylor
  • Dist. G Vice President: Windy Calahan
  • Dist. H Vice President: Lloyd Thompson

History of the Louisiana NAACP 

ONLINE: http://lanaacp.org