Democrats announce candidate endorsements

The East Baton Rouge Democratic Parish

Executive Committee (EBR DPEC) finalized its endorsements of local and statewide candidates following the Candidate Endorsement Social, last week, where members and the  public heard presentations from each of the Democratic candidate.

The committee has endorsed:

John Bel Edwards

Lieutenant Governor
Melvin L. ‘Kip’ Holden

Secretary of State
‘Chris’ Tyson

Attorney General
Geraldine ‘Geri’ Broussard Baloney

Commissioner of Ag and Forestry
‘Charlie’ Greer

Commissioner of Insurance
Charlotte C. McDaniel McGehee

BESE, District 8
Carolyn Hill

State Senator, District 15
Regina Barrow

State Representative, District 29
Ronnie Edwards
Edmond Jordan
Vereta T. Lee

State Representative, District 61
Donna Collins-Lewis
C. Denise Marcelle

State Representative, District 63
Barbara West Carpenter
Dean ‘Deaneaux’ Vicknair

State Representative, District 66
Antoine Pierce

State Representative, District 68
Patty Merrick

State Representative, District 69
Mark Holden

State Representative, District 70
‘Shamaka’ Schumake

City Judge, At-Large
Tarvald Smith

Election day is October 24.  Early voting is October 10-17.  “We look forward to working closely with our endorsed candidates to have a successful election day,” said Dawn Collins, EBR DPEC chair.