Jade Brown-Russell named to Resilient Louisiana Commission.

Urban League of Louisiana Board Chair Jade Brown-Russell was named to Governor John Bel Edward’s Resilient Louisiana Commission. Ms. Brown-Russell is also principal of J.D. Russell Consulting.
Resilient Louisiana is a state commission, made up of an 18 member panel, that is charged with examining Louisiana’s economy amid the COVID-19 pandemic and making recommendations for more resilient business-related activities and commerce in the coming months. The 18-member panel includes Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser, and will be co-chaired by Louisiana Economic Development Secretary Don Pierson and health care leader Terrie Sterling, a Baton Rouge consultant and retired Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System executive.

The commission will include a task force structure dedicated to strengthening specific sectors of Louisiana’s economy. Task forces will be focused on solutions for such critical sectors as Energy and Manufacturing; Health Care, including improved delivery of medical care, health equity and enhanced facilities; Tourism, including hotels, gaming and related hospitality entities; Rural Development; Education and Workforce, with attention given to the training needs of displaced workers; and Economic and Community Development, including strategies for making regions and communities more resilient in the face of future health care threats and other risks.

Joining the commission will be:

  • State Sen. Ronnie Johns, Senate Commerce chair, designee of Louisiana Senate President Page Cortez.
  • State Rep. Paula Davis, House Commerce chair, designee of Louisiana House Speaker Clay Schexnayder.
  • Scott Hensgens, PAR chairman; managing partner, Breazeala, Sachse & Wilson.
  • Tyron Picard, CABL chairman; founding principal, The Picard Group.
  • Tim Temple, C100 Louisiana vice chair; president and CEO, Temptan LLC.
  • Bill Hogan, representing Louisiana bankers; president and CEO, Century Next Bank.
  • Louis Reine, representing labor unions; Louisiana AFL-CIO president.
  • Michael R. LaFitte II, representing small businesses; owner, Shreveport Haberdashery.
  • Walt Leger III, representing tourism; senior vice president, general counsel, New Orleans & Company.
  • Ti Martin, representing restaurants; co-proprietor, Commander’s Palace.
  • Jade Brown-Russell, Urban League of Louisiana chair; principal, J.D. Russell Consulting.
  • Sonia Perez, representing Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency-essential industry; president, AT&T Louisiana.
  • Commissioner of Administration Jay Dardenne (ex-officio member).
  • Secretary Kimberly Robinson, Louisiana Department of Revenue (ex-officio member).
  • Dr. Jim Richardson, John Rhea Alumni Professor of Economics, LSU (ex-officio member).

Leaders who are named later to chair the task forces also will serve as ex-officio members of Resilient Louisiana. For more information about the commission and updates about its work, visitOpportunityLouisiana.com/ResilientLouisiana. Additional details about commission plans and meetings will be forthcoming in the near future.